Photo Credit: BVEP

Albertsons Stadium Earns National Sports Safety, Security Award

Via Boise State University Blog Post 

Boise State University’s Albertsons Stadium has been recognized as one of the most secure sporting event venues on any college campus.

Albertsons Stadium will receive a Facility of Merit for Safety and Security award for security measures that were implemented during the 2014 football season, including the addition of metal detectors — 50 magnetometers and 75 hand wands. The addition of metal detectors came on the heels of a high-level game day security program that has been in place for years.

A total of 10 sports facilities from across the nation will be recognized for their achievements in security as part of the 2015 National Sports Safety and Security Conference and Exhibition July 6-9 in Orlando, Florida. More than 450 security professionals and 55 vendors are expected to attend the national conference.

Other award winners include:

  • Madison Square Garden (NBA)
  • Jordan-Hare Stadium, Auburn University (NCAA)
  • Albertsons Stadium, Boise State University (NCAA)
  • California Memorial Stadium, University of California in Berkeley (NCAA)
  • Houseman Field, Grand Rapids School District, (NFHS)
  • Stutler Bowl & Legacy Stadium, Cherry Creek School District, (NFHS)
  • Wells Fargo Center (NHL)
  • Nationals Park (MLB)
  • New York Marathon (Marathon)
  • University of Phoenix Stadium (NFL)

“The reason for the Facility of Merit for Safety and Security Award is to allow professional leagues, NCAA member institutions, high school athletic programs and marathons to honor outstanding safety and security achievements,” said NCS4 Director Lou Marciani. “These achievements involve actions above normal operational activities whereby a safety or security issue may have been tackled.”

Marciani noted that each league or organization selects the criteria and determines which facility will be recognized. CEIA USA is serving as the official sponsor of the Facility of Merit for Safety and Security Awards.